top of page
  • Writer's picturecindyayana

State of Mind

My morning start with meditation and gratitude. I'm filled with gratitude for my blessings. The blessing of health, warmth, energy, and love. I feel a lot more inclined to look within myself and reflect on myself as a human. But, I feel a sense of pain, a sense of cold reality. My mind isn't right, but a sense of consistent anxiety sounds about right. This pandemic has touched me in a personal way. Our front line workers are a brave and courageous. My partner works in a skilled nursing facility, for her going to work is essential to her patients. But, mentally she is working in a battlefield. Some days are better than other. I wish I could always protect her, but all i can do is provide comfort and support. We pray together and keep our faith strong. Covid-19 took my sister by surprise. She suffered a medical emergency and was transported to a local hospital. There she was tested and treated for Covid-19. She received the best care from an amazing team of medical professionals. She was hospitalized for five days and was discharged with no further complications. Post-discharge instruction directed her to be quarantine for fourteen days. Truly, I'm thankful she is well and is recovering. My family, like my other families, were in a state of distraught and agitation. We felt helpless and clueless. It hard to know that your loved one is positive for Covid-19, because this is a virus that many of us aren't immune to. A virus that affects us differently and is deadly. As a result of this virus pandemic, the state of community mind is chaos. Many of us are affected by this pandemic in ways we can't even imagine. Families are restless, distraught. Others are filled with grief and deep sadness. Other families are separated by walls and mask. Our elders are confined to their rooms as a means to protect them. Loved ones are subjected to virus that wrecks havoc. Havoc that is clear and dangerous, while also lurking in asymptomatic vessels. So what is our state of mind? Are we numb to reality? What does our new reality, social distance, mean? Are we vultures that break laws? How can we slab parents in the face and label them criminals when their actions are for the benefit of their children. So I ask you, what is your state of mind?

What do you think of our state of community mind?


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
  • instagram
bottom of page